Dec 03, 2021 COVID-19 Guidance

Biden Administration Restricts Travel from Southern Africa Due to New COVID-19 Variant

After the new Omicron variant was detected in South Africa and other countries last week, President Biden announced that the US will restrict travel from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi. Effective Monday, November 29, travelers who have been physically present in any of the listed countries within the past 14 days will not be permitted to travel to or enter the US.

US citizens and lawful permanent residents, along with their spouses and children, are not subject to the ban. Other exempt categories include members of the US Armed Forces, their immediate families, and any noncitizen whose entry into the US is deemed to be in the “national interest.

These travel restrictions will remain in place until further notice. If you have any questions about upcoming international travel, please contact us as soon as possible.