Overview

Employment law is one of the few areas of law that presents risks for all companies and not-for-profit entities regardless of their size, location, or industry. Our firm relies on decades of collective experience to help employers manage these risks—both proactively and in litigation. We advise our clients on  labor-related matters as well.

EEO, Anti-Harassment and DEI Advice and Counsel

All employers need to prioritize equal employment opportunity (EEO), anti-harassment compliance and diversity, equity and inclusion goals, particularly with respect to hiring, promotion, discipline and termination.  Our lawyers advise and counsel clients daily in effective compliance policies and procedures and on implementation and strategy. We also provide comprehensive and customized training on EEO, anti-harassment, DEI, and implicit bias.

Employment Litigation and Administrative Proceedings

We strive to find informal resolutions to employment disputes but, in some cases, litigation will be necessary. We litigate daily before administrative tribunals, such as the EEOC, and before federal and state courts. While our employment lawyers are trained to implement strategies designed to avoid unnecessary trials or consequent appeals, we are always prepared to take a case to a jury.

Wage and Hour Compliance and Litigation

State and federal wage and hour laws impose stringent, complex, and varied requirements for employers. We assist employers nationwide with wage and hour compliance, and we also represent our clients in single plaintiff or class action wage and hour litigation when necessary.

Employment and Consulting Agreements

When drafting and negotiating employment, separation, and consulting contracts, employers need to balance protecting their business interests with crafting agreements containing, for example, non-compete clauses that are enforceable in court. KM&M lawyers work with our clients to draft and negotiate agreements that clearly and concisely protect our clients’ legal and business interests and take account of federal and state laws.

Investigations

Frequently, employment issues involve allegations of misconduct that require independent investigation. In order to manage employee relations and protect an employer’s legal position, time is of the essence and the investigation requires an investigator with both legal and interpersonal skills. Our employment lawyers are experienced at conducting investigations that are thorough, confidential, efficient, and fair.

Schedule an Appointment with an Employment Lawyer in New York or Los Angeles

If you would like to speak with an attorney in our Employment Law practice, we invite you to get in touch. Please call our New York office at 212-644-1010 or our Los Angeles office at 310-277-7550 to schedule an appointment at KM&M.

News & Insights

Team

Photo of Scott A. Budow
  • 212-644-1010
  • budow@kmm.com
view bio
Scott A. Budow Associate
Photo of J. Patrick Butler
  • 212-644-1010
  • butler@kmm.com
view bio
J. Patrick Butler Member
Photo of G. Peter Clark
  • 212-644-1010
  • clark@kmm.com
view bio
G. Peter Clark Senior Counsel
Photo of Michele A. Coyne
  • 212-644-1010
  • coyne@kmm.com
view bio
Michele A. Coyne Member
Photo of Kathryn E. Cronin
  • 212-644-1010
  • cronin@kmm.com
view bio
Kathryn E. Cronin Associate
Photo of Erica E. Frank
  • 212-644-1010
  • frank@kmm.com
view bio
Erica E. Frank Member
Photo of Jerome B. Kauff
  • 212-644-1010
  • kauff@kmm.com
view bio
Jerome B. Kauff Member
Photo of Marjorie B. Kulak
  • 212-644-1010
  • kulak@kmm.com
view bio
Marjorie B. Kulak Member
Photo of Andrew C. Kurland
  • 212-644-1010
  • kurland@kmm.com
view bio
Andrew C. Kurland Associate
Photo of Edward B. Lieber
  • 212-644-1010
  • lieber@kmm.com
view bio
Edward B. Lieber Member
Photo of Kenneth A. Margolis
  • 212-644-1010
  • margolis@kmm.com
view bio
Kenneth A. Margolis Senior Counsel
Photo of Aislinn S. McGuire
  • 212-644-1010
  • amcguire@kmm.com
view bio
Aislinn S. McGuire Member
Photo of Raymond G. McGuire
  • 212-644-1010
  • mcguire@kmm.com
view bio
Raymond G. McGuire Member
Photo of Elizabeth O’Leary
  • 212-644-1010
  • oleary@kmm.com
view bio
Elizabeth O’Leary Member
Photo of Romy Richards
  • 310-694-0876
  • richards@kmm.com
view bio
Romy Richards Of Counsel
Photo of Tamanna Rubya
  • 212-644-1010
  • rubya@kmm.com
view bio
Tamanna Rubya Associate
Photo of Shelby A. Silverman
  • 212-644-1010
  • silverman@kmm.com
view bio
Shelby A. Silverman Member
Photo of Harlan J. Silverstein
  • 212-644-1010
  • silverstein@kmm.com
view bio
Harlan J. Silverstein Member
Photo of Jacqueline Tekyi
  • 212-644-1010
  • tekyi@kmm.com
view bio
Jacqueline Tekyi Associate
Photo of William E. Zuckerman
  • 212-644-1010
  • zuckerman@kmm.com
view bio
William E. Zuckerman Member