Mar 12, 2020 Immigration Law

President Trump Announces 30-Day Ban on Travel to the US from Schengen Countries

President Trump issued a new travel ban last night in response to the coronavirus pandemic. Beginning at 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 13, 2020, the United States will not admit foreign nationals who have been physically present in any of the European Union’s 26 Schengen Area countries within the 14 days prior to their travel to the US. American citizens, permanent residents, and their families are exempt from the ban, but may be required to undergo extra screening at US airports. As of Thursday morning, travel from the United Kingdom and Ireland is currently unrestricted.

The Schengen Area countries affected by the ban are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

In addition, the State Department has issued an advisory urging Americans to “reconsider travel” to all countries during the pandemic.

We will keep you updated as the situation evolves.