Feb 03, 2020 Immigration Law

Travel Ban Expands to Include Six New Countries

On January 31, 2020, President Trump issued a proclamation expanding Executive Order 13780 (“the Travel Ban”) to limit immigration from six new countries. The new proclamation purports to target countries that fail to cooperate with U.S. intelligence and counterterrorism efforts and/or pose national security risks to the United States.

As of February 21, 2020, the issuance of immigrant visas for nationals of Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria will be suspended, except for applicants for Special Immigrant Visas (such as those who have provided aid to the United States.) Sudanese and Tanzanian nationals will no longer be permitted to enter the United States on green cards obtained through the Diversity Lottery.

Nonimmigrant visas will continue to be issued to nationals of each of these countries and nationals of these countries who already have a valid immigrant visa should not be affected. It is not yet clear whether there will be waivers available for those who wish to apply for immigrant visas after the ban goes into effect.